The Champagne Room Members Only Forum

I dont usually rant...BUT...

Old 12-20-2005, 03:28 PM
Tom
Strict Machine

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I dont usually rant...BUT...

Okay, ive been at my job around 5 years now. I am a dental technician, i make crowns and bridges (dental prosthetics)...i started out with what base pay should be...i am a "skilled technician" and i learned my trade on-the-job (from my mom who also works there). I have honed my skills and have gotten better at what i do by leaps and bounds over the years.
My bosses son also works with me and does exactly what i do and i have surpassed his craftsmanship and detail...

I have still not gotten a raise. I asked for one nearly 6 months ago and the boss verbally agreed... and yes, 6 months later, i HAVENT gotten one!

I want to know what to do next...

Should i, go in there and ask a 2nd time and get what would be an extra $50 a week, should i go and ask for more like $100 a week (because i havent gotten a raise even after 5 years) ...or should i go elsewhere and demand atleast $200+/week right off the bat (im def worth that much)

wtf do i do...feel free to express your opinions. But id like to mention that if me and my family werent so close to my boss things would be different, but i am being "nice" in this whole situation even tho hes a cheap fuck. I do however deserve atleast some sort of "cost of living" raise or whatever, even the government gives thier employees that.

thx all
Old 12-20-2005, 03:34 PM
Captain Catastrophe

I think you need to go in there and ask for the $100/week raise. That's not unreasonable considering you've been there for 5 years AND the fact that you were promised a raise and never got it.

People gotta survive, your boss will understand that. Just make sure to present it to him in a polite way and not in the 'wtf dude? i haven't gotten my raise you cheap fuck' style
Old 12-20-2005, 03:39 PM
Tom
Strict Machine