Subaru Tech All We'll Drive

I hate asking things on NASIOC....

Old 01-31-2010, 07:20 AM
I've gone Euro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I hate asking things on NASIOC....

I went to a car lot yesterday to look at an 03 wagon. Right off the bat I could see some signs that it was modified and then returned to stock. It LOOKS like the guy didn't go cheap on the mods though. It has a Prosport pod, and a decent stereo. Everything else is pretty much back to stock. I think it HAD a FMIC but now has the top mount.

My question is this....assuming he had it tuned for the mods he put on, how can I tell if it was ever tuned in the first place, and then "de-tuned" after being put back to stock? I don't want to buy it, drive it off the lot and blow the turbo/motor/have pieces fall off or something crazy like that.

I'm still relatively new to Colorado, and I don't even KNOW any tuners up here. Not to mention most good tuners won't just make car lot trips with people. lol.

Any suggestions?

EJ Crew Member #9
Official TR 5th Gen Civic CREW member # 38
Old 01-31-2010, 08:18 AM
400hp club, barely

Originally Posted by Gidget
I went to a car lot yesterday to look at an 03 wagon. Right off the bat I could see some signs that it was modified and then returned to stock. It LOOKS like the guy didn't go cheap on the mods though. It has a Prosport pod, and a decent stereo. Everything else is pretty much back to stock. I think it HAD a FMIC but now has the top mount.

My question is this....assuming he had it tuned for the mods he put on, how can I tell if it was ever tuned in the first place, and then "de-tuned" after being put back to stock? I don't want to buy it, drive it off the lot and blow the turbo/motor/have pieces fall off or something crazy like that.

I'm still relatively new to Colorado, and I don't even KNOW any tuners up here. Not to mention most good tuners won't just make car lot trips with people. lol.

Any suggestions?
Ok. Hm. How to put this..