Photography & Graphics Got a cool photoshop? Need a signature?

in need of a new camera

Old 09-20-2009, 10:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up in need of a new camera

let me first start off by saying i am by no means a pro photographer. all the cameras i have owned have been just your basic point and shoot digital camera. i will be attending the sema show this year and would like to buy a new camera to take since my current point and shoot is broken. i really like the dslr cameras (i think anyway they seem to have a lot more features) but they may be over my skill level or just overkill for the type of pictures i would be taking i dont really know. i kind of like the fact of having everything built into the camera like the flash for instance. do any of the dslr have a flash built in? i dont mind spending a couple hundred but i really did not want to get to crazy i see some of these cameras going well over $1000. would like something with enough pixels that i could blow up photos also if i had one i wanted to get framed. i could see myself tinkering here and there with photographer but i would never get myself to level of some of you on here because i am sure you all have many hundreds of hours behind your camera.
Old 09-20-2009, 10:19 AM
Drinker of the Dew

Maybe look for a used entry level DSLR like a Nikon D40, I see them go for $350 sometimes. You could get a "prosumer" camera which is a small step up from a point and shoot but they usually run around $350 so I'd still suggest looking for a used dslr.

"Thirty-six satisfactory exposures on a roll means a
photographer is not trying anything new." - Freeman Patterson

Old 09-20-2009, 10:25 AM

with a dslr i would have to carry around a detachable flash or do any of them have a built in flash. i guess i want easy portability also. i thought about going used but i would rather get new that way it would have a warranty or i could buy the extended warranty which from personal experience has come in handy.