Photography & Graphics Got a cool photoshop? Need a signature?

apples to apples

Old 07-30-2009, 08:11 AM
zetec > vtec

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default apples to apples

well, apples to cheese and wine. Sorry I like my cheeky intros, haha.

I just got a job at a new upscale resturant called The Living Room, it's in downtown Duniden right of the corner of main and 580. But since they're new I'm doing pictures for them as well. My manager wanted to see some of my work, so enjoy.

Also critism is welcomed, it's my first try at shooting food and i thought it was going to be alot easier at first haha.

setup: Nikon D50, quataray 70-300mm, quataray 18-50mm polorized filter.

This last one i wanted that shadow there to bring more attention to the wine.
Old 07-30-2009, 08:41 AM
I am mom!

Okay well I'll be the first to take a stab at it

#1 - It's out of focus and crooked
#2 - I like the composition in this one. The DOF is great in the front of the picture and your chocolate is sharp. Very nice.
#3 & #4 are both out of focus. I'm missing your focal point on both of them
#5 is too dark and the shadow is distracting and it's out of focus.

Shooting food is tough. On all of these you need a fill flash. Go on Flickr, view tags of food photography. Most of the photographers post their set up. Here's a good one to look at Food Photography - a set on Flickr He does a lot with food but those are his most recent.

Are you using a tripod? If not, use one. Use your timer...again. This will eliminate any camera shake. You may think your hands are steady, but they aren't

IMO if I was your boss, I wouldn't use these ate all. *shrugs* Just trying to help you.

The kid is selling it all
Check it out
Old 07-30-2009, 08:50 AM
zetec > vtec

thanks for the input, this isnt the actuall work for the place, it's practice and a reference to the quality. but i'll keep working on it thanks.
Old 07-30-2009, 08:51 AM
Macro Enthusiast