General Car Chat Talk about cars in general. All makes and models - strictly car discussion.

People who work at car shops:

Old 03-21-2008, 10:16 AM
Single Turbod!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default People who work at car shops:

I just want to get a better understanding on how a shop is run. My main question being, say you have 7 cars in the shop all needing something to be done on it... Do you gradually work on them all or do you finish one move on to the next etc. etc... ?

Car videos on my YouTube Channel (Subscribe please!):
http://www.youtube.com/user/FDfranklin
Old 03-21-2008, 11:00 AM
KJ
bored at work

Depends. You would generally try and diagnose them all if they need to be diagnosed, then you need to get customer approval to start work, then you need to get parts. Not all cars need all those steps but basically you work on the cars as parts and approval are given. When I worked as a repair mechanic there was alot of waiting involved before you get the go-ahead to start working on them.

Gracie Barra Clearwater Gyms in Clearwater, St. Pete and Port Richey
pm me if you are interested in trying a free class at any of the gyms.
Old 03-21-2008, 11:16 AM
Single Turbod!!

What about a performance shop, where most cars are getting parts put on etc. etc.

Car videos on my YouTube Channel (Subscribe please!):
http://www.youtube.com/user/FDfranklin
Old 03-21-2008, 11:28 AM

most shops ive hung out in are a time/effort basis... you get a ride in that needs 3-4 days worth of work done, you get started on it, if a car pulls in for a sub hour install, you knock it out, get paid and go back to the big project.

time is money, so you tell the customer with the larger project that its going to take longer then you know it will so as to allow for the little jobs that will gain you quick money...