Ford, Lincoln, Mercury Tech Automotive Related Topics Only !

Fellow mustang guys, Please HELP!

Old 01-30-2010, 01:42 PM
Rockin' 4 more Cylinders

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fellow mustang guys, Please HELP!

Ok, Oviously im new to fords HOWEVER, i am NOT new to wiring. My delima is this.

Car is a 86 true GT, stock 5.0 w/ BPU's. Now the problem. WHen i picked the car up off a friend of mine he said the fired the car up and it just STOPPED running, NOW i dont belive him. I think he bought the car as is and it never ran since he bought it and he never had it Turn over.

Now, i picked up a new starter solinioid (the on that has the Hot wires running to it on the driver side inner fender. I THINK i have the wired hooked up correctly as i am getting power in the cabin IE: Headlights work, guages move, fuel pump kits on ETC ETC. HOWEVER, when i turn the key over it doe NOTHING, no click no nothing. So i took the upper covers off he steering column to check out the wires and it seems that the main plug that plugs into the part of the igniton that acually slides back and fourth when the key turns over was loose, so i clicked it back in place and made sure it was tight. However STILL nothing.

ALso, i need to know what wires that run to that solinoid are what. I know which ones are the starter wires ( the big power and the small black one ) and i have the MAIN power wire from the battery, and the COIL power wire i know of. BUT there are 2 wires that run together with a O crimp w/ a fuseable OEM looking splice that splice the 2 together( Are these for the fuel system and is what powers the fuel pump and fuel system Etc etc? ) and i have a single wire that i know when i plug it to constant power THEN the interior and headlights work. I NEED to know which wire comes from the ignition to activate the solinoid that makes the starter enguage. also there is a random what LOOKS like a ground just hangin around too.