Auto-X/Road Racing Autocrossing, Road Racing & Other Forms of Sanctioned Racing

best auto-x car?

Old 06-01-2002, 03:42 PM
The Hoff

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best auto-x car?

in your opinions what are the best cars for autocrossing?
Old 06-01-2002, 03:55 PM
OUCH!!!

what are your intentions?
how serious are you going to be about autox?
budget for the car?
budger for mods?
budget for tires (do you want to run street tire only classes or classes that all R compound)?
dedicated autox car or will this also be a daily driver?
what else are you planning on using the car for?
do you want to do hot lapping or open track days?
Old 06-01-2002, 05:03 PM
The Hoff

i am just getting into it and am mainly doing it just for fun. i am looking to spend around 20k and want a reliable car because it is going to be my daily drive also. right now i am thinking about trying to pick up a used type r. as of now that is my first choice and what i am probably going to go with. i am just going to run on street tires for now but who knows.....if i really start getting into it i might run different rubber. just seeing what cars would be your choices if you were in my position.

kris
Old 06-02-2002, 06:15 PM
TR Balla Donor Supreme

get the rule book..

choose a class you want to run.. then choose a car that you can make competitive for the money you want to spend..

either that or just get what ever car you like and then choose a class and mod it for the class.

Old 06-02-2002, 06:31 PM

And I would also suggest going to a few autocrosses as a spectator and seeing in person the kinds of cars people are running and how they do.

If you see something you like that looks like it might be in your price range, talk to the owner about the car and what kinds of mods if any they might be running.

Its a little more intuitive than just going through the rule book, but sometimes its easier to tell what you want by seeing it instead of just reading about it.
Old 06-03-2002, 06:50 AM