Tampa Racing

Tampa Racing (https://www.tamparacing.com/forums/)
-   General Car Chat (https://www.tamparacing.com/forums/general-car-chat/)
-   -   Question about driving a car you just purchased in FL (https://www.tamparacing.com/forums/general-car-chat/473942-question-about-driving-car-you-just-purchased-fl.html)

Taiden 03-25-2008 09:00 PM

Question about driving a car you just purchased in FL

Sup TR,

I'm new to Florida. I was talking on the phone with a potential car seller today, and he said that in Florida as long as you have a bill of sale, you can legally drive it back to your house. He said that he had cops pull him over without a tag, and he showed them the bill of sale and they let him on his way.

This sounds outrageous to me... but then again, you guys don't even have inspection. Seems like the popo doesn't really care what you drive.

Anyone wanna fill me in here? How do you drive a car in FL without permanent tags (License Plates)? In my experience back home, you pay $15 for a temp plate and show proof of insurance.

jlude90 03-25-2008 09:41 PM

yeah, i've never done this but i think alot of other people here have

and its better to drive with no plates and proof of insurance then plates from another car

but to be certain and get out of all the hearsay on here, just call your local DMV

Aoshi 03-25-2008 11:40 PM

yes you have like 2 days to get it registered in your name, and like 2 days that it's covered under your current insurance until you go down there and do whatever paperwork for it.

Boostin97SE-R 03-26-2008 03:03 AM

Originally Posted by Aoshi (Post 5249071)
yes you have like 2 days to get it registered in your name, and like 2 days that it's covered under your current insurance until you go down there and do whatever paperwork for it.

Yes you can, however I think its 30 days.

Eric 03-26-2008 04:38 AM