General Car Chat Talk about cars in general. All makes and models - strictly car discussion.

Jeep won't start

Old 06-24-2007, 04:26 PM
Superhero

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jeep won't start

I have a 1986 Jeep CJ-7 with a 4.0 l6 from a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I posted in the Tech forum about another problem before but the response was so-so.

Long story short, I'm still learning to work on cars. I've fixed a few problems here and there but I've got a problem that is a little over my head. Basically I had a problem with the fan control unit. The circuit board was getting so hot that that the solder connections were coming loose. I ordered a new one and followed the instructions EXACTLY for for connecting it. It worked properly for about 15 minutes. I put away my tools as I was testing. After a little bit the fan wouldn't shut off. I tried turning the engine off, got out my test light, then turned on the engine again. Turned off the engine and then the engine wouldn't start up again. It turns over but won't start.

Here is what I've done. I've replaced the ignition switch (it was only $10 at Advance Auto.) No dice. I got my test light out and tested all the fuses, all good. I pulled the cable off the coil and tested the positive side. Good. I pulled the cable off that goes the the distributor put a nail in between the rubber and metal connector and turned it over and tested it against a ground. No spark. (hopefully I tested it right) The coil was replaced a couple of months ago.... Another thing... I can't hear the fuel pump click on like normal either.

I was wondering if

a) if anyone had an suggestions from here and

b) if someone wanted to come over for a few beers and help me work on (and teach me a few things) and maybe earn a few bucks...

Government is not reason, it is not eloquence, it is force. Like fire it is a dangerous servant and a fearsome master.

George Washington

##################################
Old 06-24-2007, 04:30 PM
El Puto ©