Auto-X/Road Racing Autocrossing, Road Racing & Other Forms of Sanctioned Racing

Driving School?

Old 10-29-2008, 05:13 PM
drives euro trash

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driving School?

I'm looking into potential Christmas gifts for my wife. She is interested in is a driving school that can teach her the in's and out's of performance driving.

Something she is interested in is learning how to hone her manual transmission skills. I honestly think she is good, but she wants more direction in how to "aggressively" drive a manual transmission car (i.e. fast launches, fast shifts, downshifts, etc). Everything I know came over time and I've tried teaching her, but unfortunately I am a terrible teacher. Any clue if there are any classes out there that touch on the subject of manual transmissions for performance driving?

I was going to sign her up for the Evolution class, but they don't have anything listed past October and I really don't want her out there chewing up the tires on her daily driver (f-ing tires on her car are pricey). Seems like Skip Barber is one of the better options out there since she wouldn't be out there thrashing the daily driver, but they are a bit pricey. Are there any other good options out there?
Old 10-29-2008, 07:23 PM

Tough call if I'm reading you correctly.

No performance driving school (be it an autox school like Evolution, or a track school like Skip Barber or any of the smaller autox or track club schools) is going to spend a lot of time on the art of shifting. Primarily for the very reason you mentioned... it's something that is learned over time, hard to teach much in a day... and when you've payed for TRACK time, the focus of their teaching is going to be things like the finer points of late-braking, smooth turn-in and late-apexing.