Auto-X/Road Racing Autocrossing, Road Racing & Other Forms of Sanctioned Racing

A few questions

Old 05-03-2004, 05:36 PM
Back on the road again...

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A few questions

I read the whole solo 2 handbook... well the one in the sticky. I am completely new to this sport and i think it would be a lot of fun and i really want to go to an event but i was wondering do i HAVE to be in a club or something like that and i would really like to go and take the classes and such but idk where to go for stuff like that. thanks for your help, i think i am probably gonna get some responses telling me to read something.
TR's drive my car more than 2500 miles in less than a month crew member #01
Old 05-03-2004, 06:14 PM
OUCH!!!

Default Re: A few questions

Originally posted by cheesy
i think i am probably gonna get some responses telling me to read something.
How'd you guess!!!! (I'm not gonna beat you up though because at least you read the stickies. )

The event flyers for most of the local clubs list entry fees for members and non-members. Thus, the answer is "No, you don't have to be a member, but it'll save you some cash in the long run."

The best thing you can do is show up at an event. If you're not really sure what's up with everything, show up for the first one to watch. If you're only going to go to watch, I'd recommend showing up early enough to listen in on the drivers meeting. You'll learn a TON of information about how events are run and what the expected rules/behavior are. It varies a little bit by club, but really it's mostly the same. (And the majority of it is based around safety keeping the club liability insurance policy and being respectful to the site so that we don't loose them.)

Maybe even talk to an club staff member and see if they can get you a ride along with somebody.
Old 05-03-2004, 06:34 PM